Last updated on
South Carolina LLC
Business Licenses and Permits
Quick Start Guide:
How to form an LLC in South Carolina
South Carolina LLC costs:
LLC formation: $125 online or $110 by mail
Annual report: None (for most LLCs)
(check out Northwest vs LegalZoom)
After your South Carolina LLC is approved, you’ll need to comply with state and local government license and permit requirements.
Your requirements are determined by the industry you are in and where your business is located.
Not complying with license and permit requirements is risky and can result in penalties and fines, or worse, not being allowed to conduct business.
Types of licenses you may need in South Carolina
Below are some license and permits examples:
- Department of Revenue State Tax ID number
- Business operation license/business privilege license
- Sales tax license
- Seller/reseller permit
- Building permit
- Health permit
- Signage permit
- Home occupation permit
- Zoning and land use permits
- Withholding taxes (if you have employees)
Industries that are more regulated have more requirements.
Do it yourself in South Carolina
Below are some resources for determining your South Carolina license and permit requirements yourself:
Obtain a South Carolina Tax ID Number
A state taxpayer identification number is issued by the South Carolina Department of Revenue. That number can be obtained online at https://dor.sc.gov. Make sure you have your EIN from the IRS before registering. You can also contact the Department of Revenue by phone (803-898-5000) or email ([email protected]).
General Business Licensing Info
Business Licenses Handbook
Link to all County Websites (contact your county for requirements)
Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation
Department of Consumer Affairs
Economic Development Offices
Note: There may be more places in South Carolina you need to contact.
After you’ve researched and obtained the proper licenses and permits, you can then proceed to the next lesson: Taxes.