Arkansas LLC

How to Form an LLC in Arkansas

How to Form an LLC in ArkansasAn Arkansas Limited Liability Company (LLC) is a legal structure used to protect your personal assets (home, car, bank account) in the event your business is sued.

An LLC can be used to operate a business, or an LLC can be used to hold assets (such as real estate, vehicles, boats, or aircraft).

Forming an LLC in Arkansas is simple. Search your Arkansas LLC name in the state database and select your Registered Agent.

File your Arkansas Articles of Organization online ($45) or by mail ($50). Approval time is 2-3 days if you file online and 1-2 weeks if you file by mail.

After your Arkansas LLC is approved, complete your Operating Agreement and get an EIN Number (aka Federal Tax ID Number) from the IRS.

Then make sure to pay your Arkansas Annual Franchise Tax every year to keep your LLC in compliance.

We’ve created a free course that will walk you through forming your own Arkansas LLC, step-by-step.

On desktop, the lessons are listed on your right. On mobile, the lessons are listed at the bottom of the page.

Need to save time? Hire a professional to form your LLC in Arkansas:
Northwest ($39 + state fee) or LegalZoom ($149 + state fee)
Matt Horwitz on LinkedinMatt Horwitz on TwitterMatt Horwitz on Youtube
Matt Horwitz
Founder & Educator at LLC University
Forming an LLC shouldn't be so complicated. Our step-by-step guide will make the process a breeze – and no complex legal jargon! We teach people how to form an LLC for free in all 50 states. We hope you find our free guides and resources helpful in your entrepreneurial journey.

6 Comments

  1. Greg jones March 22, 2017

    I need the number to call and pay my Arkansas llc yearly fee thanks Greg

    reply
    • Matt Horwitz March 22, 2017

      Hi Greg, the number to the Arkansas Secretary of State is 501-682-3409. You can find more information on the Arkansas Annual Franchise Tax Report here. Hope that helps!

      reply
  2. Jonathan C June 6, 2017

    I am starting a lawncare business and I am 16 years old . Can I get an llc in my own name ?

    reply
    • Matt Horwitz June 7, 2017

      Hi Jonathan, in most states, an LLC owner (member) must be 18 years or older. We just called the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office for you though and they stated the age requirement is 21. You may want to ring up a few local attorneys though and see what their thoughts are. There may be a few creative work-arounds to use for the next few years. I look through the AR LLC Act for you, but I could not find the age requirements. Also, you can operate the lawn care business as a Sole Proprietorship for the time being. Hope that helps. Best wishes!

      reply
  3. mary deitemeyer August 13, 2018

    I AM PLANNING ON STARTING A MOTORCYCLE TOWING BUSINESS . I WILL HAVE 2 VEHICLES USED FOR TOWING. THEY ARE CONVERTED HEARSES. I KNOW I HAVE TO GET BUSINESS AUTO INSURANCE FOR THEM (AND PLATES AND REGISTRATIONS) DO I ALSO NEED TO FORM AN LLC OR WILL THE AUTO INSURANCE COVER ME IN THE EVENT OF AN AUTO MISHAP?

    reply
    • Matt Horwitz August 16, 2018

      Hi Mary, you don’t have to form an LLC to run your business and to title your vehicles, but you certainly can. An LLC to run the business is a very common setup as it protects your personal assets in the event of a lawsuit. You don’t have to title the vehicles into the LLC, but you certainly can. As for the auto insurance rates, they may be slightly cheaper in your name versus the LLC (which would be a commercial/corporate policy), however, even if the vehicles are owned by an LLC, in the event of an auto accident, you’re likely to be involved in the case personally since it could be you as the driver who was negligent and caused harm. This would be a good question to followup with an attorney though, to look more deeply at the advantages and disadvantages. Hope that helps.

      reply

Leave a Comment