Last updated July 13, 2021
Business Licenses and Permits
How to form an LLC in Connecticut
This Quick Start Guide is a brief overview of how to form an LLC in Connecticut.
Connecticut LLC costs:
Connecticut state fee: $120 (one-time fee)
Annual report: $80 (every year)
★ Check out Northwest vs LegalZoom
After your Connecticut LLC is approved, you’ll need to comply with state and local government license and permit requirements.
Your requirements are determined by the industry you are in and where your business is located.
Not complying with license and permit requirements is risky and can result in penalties and fines, or worse, not being allowed to conduct business in the state.
Types of licenses you may need in Connecticut
Below are some license and permits examples:
- Department of Revenue State Tax ID number
- Business operation license/business privilege license
- Sales tax license
- Seller/reseller permit
- Building permit
- Health permit
- Signage permit
- Home occupation permit
- Zoning and land use permits
- Withholding taxes (if you have employees)
Industries that are more regulated usually have more requirements.
Do it yourself in Connecticut
CT Department of Revenue State Tax ID Number
Because you are operating a business in Connecticut, you will need to register with the Department of Revenue and get a CT State Tax Identification Number.
You can register with the Department of Revenue online through the Taxpayer Service Center. Most businesses do so using Form REG-1. However, some licenses (like those for alcohol, tobacco, or nursing homes) require additional documents that you can find in the Registration Applications page.
You can contact the Department of Revenue with any questions at 860-297-5962, or visit their contact page for additional information.
Sales and Use Tax Permit
A Sales and Use Tax Permit from the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) is needed for the following activities in Connecticut:
- Sale, rental, or lease of goods
- Sale of a taxable service
- Operation of a hotel, motel, or lodging house
Advance CT (formerly the Connecticut Economic Resource Center)
Advance CT provides helpful guides that discuss licensing requirements based on different industries. You can also discuss your licensing requirements with them by phone. Their phone number is 860-571-7136.
Note: There may be more places in Connecticut you need to contact.
Next Step: Connecticut LLC taxes
After you’ve researched and obtained the proper licenses and permits, you can then proceed to the next lesson: Connecticut LLC taxes.