Business Licenses and Permits
How to form an LLC in Mississippi
This Quick Start Guide is a brief overview of how to form an LLC in Mississippi.
Mississippi LLC costs:
LLC formation cost: $50 (one-time fee)
Annual report: $0 (but report must be filed every year)
(check out Northwest vs LegalZoom)
After you form your Mississippi LLC, you need to comply with any city and county license and permit requirements.
Your requirements are determined by the industry you are in and where your business is located.
Not complying with license and permit requirements is risky and can result in penalties and fines, or worse, not being able to conduct business in Mississippi.
Types of licenses & permits you may need in Mississippi
Below are some license and permit examples:
- City business licenses/tax permits
- Building permit
- Health permit
- Occupational permit
- Signage permit
- Alarm permit
- Zoning permit
- Alcohol & tobacco permit
- Liquor license
- Sales and use tax permit
- Seller/reseller permit
Do it yourself in Mississippi
Contact your Local Officials
The Mississippi Secretary of State keeps a comprehensive directory of state and county officials you can contact for your LLC’s licensing and permit needs.
Mississippi Business OneStop Shop (BOSS)
You can find out about LLC’s license and permit requirements when using the Mississippi BOSS website (enter your county and city): https://www.ms.gov/sos/onestopshop/
There are nearly 20,000 licensing and permit jurisdictions in the United States and each has its own rules and regulations.
If you want to save time, we recommend hiring a professional service company (like IncFile) to do the research and prepare your applications.
They will provide you with a comprehensive package of all the licenses, permits and tax registrations required for your Mississippi LLC, as well as the necessary application forms:
After you’ve researched and obtained the proper licenses and permits for your Mississippi LLC, you can then proceed to the next lesson: Mississippi LLC Taxes.