If you googled how to set up an LLC in Utah, and are feeling confused, don’t worry! This page covers everything you need to know, including step-by-step instructions.
Guide to starting an LLC in Utah
To start a Utah Limited Liability Company, you’ll pay $70 to file the LLC Certificate of Organization.
This form gets filed with the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code. And once it’s approved, your LLC officially goes into existence and you may conduct business in Utah.
However, there are other steps to starting an LLC in Utah. For example: searching your business name and hiring a Registered Agent.
We break down the Utah LLC process step-by-step with pro tips that we’ve learned over the years. The process is pretty simple, and we can help you start a Utah LLC today.
1. Search your LLC Name
Before filing any LLC paperwork, you’ll want to make sure your desired business name is available in the state.
You can do this by using the Business Entity Database. You can search for your business name to compare it against existing businesses registered in Utah. You need to do this because two businesses in the state can’t have the same name.
Next, you’ll want to familiarize yourself with the naming requirements in Utah.
The Utah Department of Commerce has a few rules and requirements for naming Limited Liability Companies that you need to know.
LLC Designator: Utah law requires that your LLC have a proper designator at the end of its name.
The most common acceptable LLC designators in Utah are:
- Ltd. Company
- Limited Co.
- Limited Liability Company
Note: Most people choose “LLC”.
Your LLC name cannot include a designator that makes it sound like a different type of legal entity. For example, your name cannot use the words or abbreviations Corporation, Corp., Inc., Incorporated, Limited Partnership, LP, L.P., or Trust.
Our step-by-step Utah LLC Name lesson explains how to choose your business name in Utah.
2. Choose a Utah Registered Agent
Once you have an LLC name, the next step is to choose a Utah Registered Agent.
A Utah Registered Agent is a person or company who accepts legal mail (called Service of Process) and state notices on behalf of your Utah LLC.
You have three options for who can be the Registered Agent:
- Friend or family member
- Registered Agent Service
The Registered Agent for your LLC must have a physical street address in Utah. PO Boxes aren’t allowed.
If you, a friend, or family member will be your LLC Registered Agent, they should be comfortable having their name and address listed on public records.
If you don’t have an address in Utah, or you prefer more privacy, you can hire a Registered Agent Service for your LLC.
We recommend Northwest Registered Agent
Our favorite Registered Agent service is Northwest Registered Agent ($125 per year).
They’ll scan any mail sent to your LLC and upload it to your online account. Northwest has excellent customer service and they’ve been in business for more than 20 years.
3. File Utah Certificate of Organization
To form an LLC, you’ll need to file the Utah LLC Certificate of Organization with the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code.
The filing fee is $70. This is a one-time fee to create your LLC.
Filing methods: You can file the Certificate of Organization online or by mail. We have step-by-step instructions on this page: Utah Certificate of Organization.
We recommend filing online as it’s easier to complete and has a faster approval time.
The online filing system is called “Shopping Cart“.
Alternatively, if you prefer to file by mail, you can download the Certificate of Organization and then send it to the Utah Division of Corporations with a check or money order.
If you want to file by mail, send your completed Certificate of Organization and your $70 filing fee to:
Utah Department of Commerce
Division of Corporations
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6705
LLC approval time: The approval time for a Utah LLC is usually 7-10 business days (about 2 weeks). Please see How long does it take to get an LLC in Utah to check for any delays.
4. Create your LLC Operating Agreement
A Utah LLC Operating Agreement is a written contract that establishes who owns the LLC and how much of the LLC each Member owns.
An Operating Agreement can also explain:
- how taxes are paid
- how profits are distributed
- how the LLC is managed
- and the business purpose of the LLC
We recommend that both Single-Member LLCs and Multi-Member LLCs have an Operating Agreement.
In case of a lawsuit, the agreement can help prove that your Utah LLC is being run properly as a separate legal business entity.
You don’t need to send your Utah LLC’s Operating Agreement to any state or federal agency. It also doesn’t need to be notarized. Just keep a copy with your LLC’s business records and make sure all Members have a copy.
Your Operating Agreement can be flexible. You can make changes as needed, as long as all of the Members agree.
5. Get an EIN for your Utah LLC
The next step is to get an EIN Number (Federal Employer Identification Number) from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) for your LLC.
Your EIN Number is used to:
- identify your LLC for tax purposes
- open a business bank account
And if applicable, to:
- handle payroll (if you hire employees)
- get a business credit card or loan
- apply for business licenses and permits
Wait for your LLC to be approved before applying for your Employer Identification Number. If your LLC is rejected by the state, you’ll need to get a new EIN (and cancel the old EIN).
Getting a Federal Tax ID Number is completely free. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) issues Federal Tax ID Numbers at no charge.
US Citizens and US Residents: If you have a SSN (Social Security Number) or ITIN (Individual Taxpayer Identification Number), we recommend applying for an EIN online. We have step-by-step instructions here: Apply for EIN online on the IRS website.
Non-US Residents: If you don’t have an SSN or ITIN, you can still get an EIN for your LLC. You just can’t apply online. Instead, you need to apply by mail or fax. We have step-by-step instructions here: How to get an EIN without an SSN or ITIN.
6. File your Utah LLC Annual Report
All Utah LLCs must file a Utah Annual Report (aka LLC Renewal) every year.
The Annual Report filing fee is $20 per year.
Due date: Your Annual Report is due the last day of your LLC’s anniversary month. Your LLC’s anniversary month is the month it was approved by the state.
File online: Go to the state’s online filing page, enter your Entity ID Number and Renewal ID Number to login. Then complete your LLC’s Annual Renewal online and make your $20 payment.
Postcard: The state will send you a postcard reminder of the Annual Report deadline, and the postcard will have the Renewal ID Number. If you can’t find the postcard with your Renewal ID Number, you can request it.
After your Limited Liability Company is formed
After your Utah LLC is formed, there are some final steps to consider.
LLC business bank account
You’ll want to open an LLC business bank account for your LLC. This makes accounting and record-keeping much easier for your business finances.
Having a separate bank account for your LLC also maintains your personal liability protection by keeping your business finances separate from your personal finances.
Business credit card
The bank will give you a debit card after opening a business bank account. However, you may also want to get a business credit card to earn rewards. This is also helpful in keeping business expenses separate from personal expenses.
Website and domain name
You can check if your business name is available as a domain name. You can search your domain name with GoDaddy below.
Find a domain name
Utah business licenses and permits
Depending on where your LLC is located, and what industry you’re in, your LLC may need to get a Utah business license as well as a local business permit. For example, if you sell products in Utah, you may need to collect sales tax and have a sales tax license.
You can research the requirements yourself or hire a company, like IncFile to take care of it for you.
If you’d rather not use your mobile or home phone number for your business, you can get a business phone number from Phone.com.
Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code
If you have any questions about starting an LLC in Utah, you can contact the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code (which is part of the Utah Department of Commerce).
Their phone number is 801-530-4849, and their hours are Monday through Friday from 8am to 5pm Mountain Time.
Utah LLC Frequently Asked Questions
It costs $70 to start a Utah LLC. This is the fee paid to file the Utah Certificate of Organization.
The Certificate of Organization and $70 filing fee are sent to the Utah Division of Corporations. And once the paperwork is approved by the state, your LLC goes into existence.
If you have an LLC formed in another state, but you want to do business in Utah, you’ll need to register that out-of-state LLC in Utah. This is known as a Foreign LLC. You can find Foreign LLC fees on this page: Foreign LLC fees by state.
Yes, you can file your LLC online in Utah. The Certificate of Organization filing fee is $70.
We have step-by-step instructions for the online filing.
It takes about 7-10 business days (2 weeks) to get an LLC online in Utah. This is the time it takes for the Department of Commerce to process your Certificate of Organization filing.
You can get an LLC in Utah by filing online or by mail. We recommend the online filing as the approval time is faster.
The first benefit of an LLC is protecting your personal assets. Meaning, if your business is sued, your personal assets – like your home, cars, and bank accounts – are protected.
This protection applies to all LLC owners (called LLC Members). It doesn’t matter if you have a Single-Member LLC or Multi-Member LLC. All of the LLC owners are protected from the business debts and liabilities of the business.
This type of protection wouldn’t apply if you operate as a Sole Proprietorship or Partnership. With these types of informal business structures, the owners aren’t protected in the event of a lawsuit. For that reason, Limited Liability Companies (LLCs) are a much more common business structure than a Sole Proprietorship or Partnership.
Another benefit is LLC pass-through taxation. This means the LLC itself doesn’t pay federal income taxes. Instead, the profits “pass through” to the LLC Members. And the Members report and pay the taxes on their personal tax return.
And Utah LLC taxes are very similar, since the state honors the federal tax treatment of LLCs. To learn more, please see How are LLCs taxed.
We recommend having a Utah LLC Operating Agreement.
An LLC Operating Agreement is an “internal document”, meaning you just need to keep a copy for yourself and give a copy to any other LLC Members.
You don’t need to send your Operating Agreement to the Utah Department of Commerce. You also don’t need to send it to the IRS.
Operating Agreements may be required when you open a business bank account. We recommend calling the bank ahead of time to see which documents you’ll need.
Whether or not you need a business license will depend on where your LLC is located and what industry it’s in. There’s also a chance you might not need a business license at all.
Please see our business license information above for details.
If you are a state-licensed professional (such as an accountant, lawyer, or doctor), you may not be able to form a regular LLC. Instead, you may need to form a PLLC, aka a Professional Limited Liability Company.
Yes, you’re required to have a Utah Registered Agent for your LLC.
A Registered Agent is a person or company who accepts legal documents (called Service of Process) and state notices for your LLC. Registered Agents are required to have a physical address in the state of Utah (called a Registered Office address).
You can be your own Registered Agent, or a friend or family member can also be the Registered Agent for your LLC. That person just needs to be a resident of the state of Utah, and have a physical street address in the state.
If you, a friend, or family member don’t have a physical Utah street address, you’ll need to look into Registered Agent Services. The company we recommend is Northwest Registered Agent.
The annual fee for a Utah LLC is called the Annual Report (aka LLC Renewal). This costs $20 per year and it must be paid each year for the life of your LLC.
Utah LLC Act
Utah Business Renewal: Instructions
Utah State Tax Commission: Business Taxes
Utah State Tax Commission: Sales & Use Tax
Utah Division of Corporations: Renewal Process
Utah Division of Corporations: Service of Process
Utah Division of Corporations: Business Name Policies
Utah Division of Corporations: Domestic Limited Liability Company
Utah Division of Corporations: LLC Certificate of Organization Instructions
Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing: License Lookup